Code-42 Initial Setup Instructions

First-Time Setup

Mac users:  Click the blue “M” on the menu bar and select Managed Software Center. Then click updates and allow Code42-CrashPlan to install (along with other software updates, if applicable).

Windows users: should have Code42-CrashPlan pre-deployed to their machines.


Login

Launch the Code42-CrashPlan application

  1. Windows:  Click the Start menu, type Code42-CrashPlan into the search box and press ENTER




     

  2. Mac: In the Dock, open Finder, click Applications and then click Code42-CrashPlan





     

  3. Type your uniqname@umich.edu and UMICH password






     

  4. Click Sign In



     


Client Configuration

If this is the first time you have used Code42-CrashPlan or you are enrolling a new device, click Add New Device. If you previously had Code42-CrashPlan installed on another workstation and want to continue to use your old backup archive, you will need to run the Replace Existing process.

 

 

First-Time Backup for Newly enrolled devices

You can select multiple locations to include in the backup. Your Users folder on your computer’s hard drive is selected by default.

  1. Under the Files section, click Change

  2. Check the boxes for the folders to backup

  3. Note It is not necessary to backup the entire hard drive as Code42-CrashPlan can not do full operating system restores. Rather, select only locations where you regularly save files.

  4. Click Save. Your backup will begin immediately

Note Your initial backup should be performed on a fast network, e.g. on campus, to minimize time. Large single files typically upload at a faster rate than many small files.


Move to a New Computer or Restore From Drive Failure

Replace Existing Computer

You should use this method when you have either 1) moved to a new computer or 2) your computer's hard drive has been reformatted or replaced.

  1. Install the Code42-CrashPlan Client

  2. Sign in. Code42-CrashPlan will ask you if you would like to Add New Device or Replace Existing

  3. Select Replace Existing and then Start (below the listed 3-step process)

  4. You will be prompted to select the computer you are replacing from the list

  5. Check all of the files from your old device you wish to transfer to your new workstation and click Get Files

  6. You will be prompted to pick the file location, what to do if the file exists, and permissions: Restore the most recent version to original location and rename any existing files

  7. Once the files have been restored, click Next, settings will be transferred over and the user will have to login again. The replace device process is now complete, click Finish

  8. Click on the Details of the current computer and then Manage Files to ensure all the folders you want to back up are selected


Restoring Files

After the initial backup is complete, you are able to restore previously saved versions of files from the cloud.

  1. Launch the Code42-CrashPlan application.

  2. Login, if prompted

  3. Click Restore Files for the computer you will be restoring data from.

  4. Check the box(s) next to the folder or file you need restored. If a file was deleted, click the ooo to show all deleted and hidden file options. By default, Code42-CrashPlan will restore the the most recent version of the file(s).  A calendar is available so you can pick a specific time and date from which to restore your file(s).

  5. Click Restore Files.

  6. By default, files are restored to a folder in Downloads unless selected otherwise. If you wish you can click the drop-down to change the location where the file(s) will be restored. The subsequent choices are Original Location, followed by Desktop and Other. When you select a folder, click the folder in parentheses to select a custom location to restore the file(s).

  7. By default, restored files are renamed to preserve the current version of the selected file(s). If you wish you can click the drop-down to select overwrite; this replaces the current version of the file with the restored version.

  8. There are two settings for file PermissionsCurrent - (Recommended default ) When the file is restored, its ownership is changed to match the ownership of the folder where the restored file is saved. Original - When the file is restored, it retains the ownership that the user had on the file when it was backed up.

  9. Click Go.

Was this helpful?
50% helpful - 2 reviews

Details

Article ID: 56703
Created
Thu 6/28/18 12:26 PM
Modified
Thu 4/22/21 11:35 AM